Arundle Yacht Club
2010 Boon Island Race
June 26, 2010


The 2010 Boon Island Race began like many past races with questionable weather and a forecast for light and variable winds.

Nevertheless, the six skippers that turned out for the race opted to go for the full Boon Island trek, a straight line round trip distance of 26 miles. Anticipating the wind direction and the need for tacks, the race likely would entail some 30-35 miles with a minimum of 6-7 hours of sailing.

The race kicked off at 1100 hours with Bob Scribner’s trawler, Clairann, serving as Committee Boat. Assisting Scrib as crew were Doug Leonard, Jean Bailey and Dave James. The start of the race was picture perfect with fair skies and southwest winds of 10-12 knots.

Since the weather was uncertain, it was agreed that a radio check would be made at 1300 hours to decide whether the race should go the full course to Boon Island or terminate at a weather buoy off of Cape Nedick. With decent winds and no sign of rain, the skippers voted to stay the course to Boon Island.

Needless to say, the wind was fickle. The faster boats made it around Boon Island and most of the way back to Kennebunkport before it died off almost completely. Unfortunately, four of the boats were too far back to make it to the finish line by the deadline of 1800 hours and had to start their engines.

The official results of the race with corrected times were:

First Place            Defiant            Rob Benson            5 hours, 14 minutes, 47 seconds

Second Place       Voodoo           Jake Maloney          5 hours, 23 minutes, 57 seconds

Blu, skippered by Jack Somers, Dawn Patrol, skippered by Peter Hatch, Tessie, skippered by John Bailey and Shadow, skippered by Bob Steeves all were caught in dead wind and forced to motor back to the club.

Since there was no official third place finisher, the four trophy glasses normally awarded for third place were presented, one each, to the skippers of the four boats that were unable to complete the race.

Following the race, all participants enjoyed drinks & refreshments arranged by Susan Benson. Many thanks to Susan Benson, Bob Scribner, Anne Gould & Jack Jensen for their help in organizing the 2010 Boon Island Race.


                                                                                    Respectfully Submitted,

                                                                                    Dave James


Boon Island Race

2010 Boon Island Race Results
2009 Boon Island Race Results
2008 Boon Island Race Results

2007 Boon Island Race Results
2006 Boon Island Race Results
2005 Boon Island Race Results
2004 Boon Island Race Results
2003 Boon Island Race Results

Arundel Yacht Club
Ocean Avenue - PO Box 328
Kennebunkport, Maine 04046
Club Phone: (207) 967-3060